AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack – Screenplay News

It was one of the most talked-about shows of 2021 – and now its on track for some big wins at this year’s AACTA Awards.

The Newsreader was one of the most talked-about shows of 2021 – and its popularity has been reflected with an impressive sweep of nominations for Australia’s biggest TV and film awards this year.

The six-part ABC series has scored a whopping 10 nods across a range of categories ahead of the 2021 AACTA Awards, which will be held at the Sydney Opera House on December 8.

The annual event honours the best in Australian TV and film – and this year, it’s given nods to Nitram featuring Anthony LaPaglia, The Dry starring Eric Bana, Penguin Bloom with Naomi Watts, The Newsreader, Wakefield, Mr Inbetween, Wentworth and Jack Irish.

Reality TV juggernauts including The Block, The Voice, LEGO Masters and MasterChef Australia have once again been recognised, along with Luxe Listings Sydney and returning favourite, The Real Housewives of Melbourne.

The Awards, which incorporates the public-voted AACTA Audience Choice Awards, will be broadcast on Channel 10, at 7.30pm, Wednesday, December 8, and encored in the days following on Fox Arena on Foxtel, Binge and AACTA TV.


(Full list of nominations can be found at the AACTA website.)


Best Drama Series


Jack Irish

Mr Inbetween

The Newsreader

Total Control



Best Children’s Program

100% Wolf: Legend of the Moonstone


The Bureau of Magical Things

Dive Club


Kangaroo Beach

Best Comedy Entertainment Program

Dom and Adrian 2020

Hard Quiz

The Moth Effect

Spicks And Specks

The Weekly

Best Comedy Performer

Mark Samual Bonanno – Aunty Donna’s Big Ol’ House of Fun

Kitty Flanagan – Fisk

Tom Gleeson – Hard Quiz

Broden Kelly – Aunty Donna’s Big Ol’ House of Fun

Sarah Kendall – Frayed

Nakkiah Lui – Preppers

Luke McGregor – Rosehaven

Celia Pacquola – Rosehaven

Best Direction in Drama or Comedy

Fires (Episode 2) – Ana Kokkinos

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Nash Edgerton

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Emma Freeman

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kim Mordaunt

Wakefield (Episode 8) – Jocelyn Moorhouse

Best Direction in Nonfiction Television

Brazen Hussies – Catherine Dwyer

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas – Madeleine Parry

Love on the Spectrum (Episode 4) – Cian O’Clery

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb (Episode 1) – Stamatia Maroupas

You Can’t Ask That (Episode 1) – Kirk Docker

Best Documentary or Factual Program

Brazen Hussies

EXPOSED: The Ghost Train Fire

Life in Colour with David Attenborough

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb

Old People’s Home For 4 Year Olds

The School That Tried to End Racism

Best Entertainment Program

Australian Ninja Warrior

LEGO® Masters Australia

The Masked Singer


Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras 2021

The Voice

Best Factual Entertainment Program

Australia Talks

Courtney Act’s One Plus One

Gogglebox Australia

Love on the Spectrum

The Project

You Can’t Ask That

Best Lead Actor in a Drama Presented by Foxtel

Rudi Dharmaligam – Wakefield

Guy Pearce – Jack Irish

Sam Reid – The Newsreader

Richard Roxburgh – Fires

Scott Ryan – Mr Inbetween

Best Lead Actress in a Drama Presented by Foxtel

Deborah Mailman – Total Control

Mandy McElhinney – Wakefield

Miranda Otto – Fires

Pamela Rabe – Wentworth

Anna Torv – The Newsreader

Best Lifestyle Program

Adam and Poh’s Malaysia in Australia

The Cook Up with Adam Liaw

Gardening Australia

Grand Designs Australia

The Living Room

Love it or List it Australia

Best Miniseries or Telefeature

A Sunburnt Christmas

The End


New Gold Mountain

The Unusual Suspects

Best Narrative Comedy Series


Aunty Donna’s Big Ol’ House of Fun





Best Reality Program

The Amazing Race Australia

Australian Survivor: Brains v Brawn

The Block

Luxe Listings Sydney

MasterChef Australia

The Real Housewives of Melbourne

Best Screenplay in Television

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Scott Ryan

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Michael Lucas

The Newsreader (Episode 5) – Kim Ho & Michael Lucas

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kristen Dunphy & Sam Meikle

Total Control (Episode 1) – Stuart Page

Best Stand-Up Special

Anne Edmonds and Lloyd Langford – business with Pleasure

Celia Pacquola – Let Me Know How It All Works Out

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas

Lano and Woodley in Lano and Woodley

Rhys Nicholson Live at the Athenaeum

Tom Gleeson – Lighten Up

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama

Harry Greenwood – Wakefield

William McInnes – The Newsreader

Matt Nable – Mr Inbetween

Stephen Peacocke – The Newsreader

Justin Rosniak – Mr Inbetween

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama

Michelle Lim Davidson – The Newsreader

Marg Downey – The Newsreader

Harriet Dyer – Wakefield

Rachel Griffiths – Total Control

Noni Hazlehurst – The End


Best Film

The Dry

The Furnace

High Ground


Penguin Bloom


Best Adapted Screenplay in Film

The Dry – Rob Connolly & Harry Cripps

Penguin Bloom – Shaun Grant & Harry Cripps

Peter Rabbit 2 – Will Gluck & Patrick Burleigh

Rams – Jules Duncan

Best Direction in Film

The Dry – Rob Connolly

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

High Ground – Stephen Maxwell Johnson

Nitram – Justin Kurzel

Penguin Bloom – Glendyn Ivin

Best Indie Film


Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Dead Aunt)

Lone Wolf

Moon Rock for Monday

My First Summer

Under My Skin

Best Lead Actor in Film

Simon Baker – High Ground

Eric Bana – The Dry

Caleb Landry Jones – Nitram

Ahmed Malek – The Furnace

Jacob Junior Nayinggul – High Ground

Best Lead Actress in Film

Rose Byrne – Peter Rabbit 2

Judy Davis – Nitram

Noni Hazlehurst – June Again

Genevieve O’Reilly – The Dry

Naomi Watts – Penguin Bloom

Best Original Screenplay in Film

Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Dead Aunt) – Monica Zanetti

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

High Ground – Chris Anastassiades

June Again – JJ Winlove

Nitram – Shaun Grant

Best Supporting Actor in Film

Michael Caton – Rams

Baykali Ganambarr – The Furnace

Anthony LaPaglia – Nitram

Sean Mununggurr – High Ground

Jack Thompson – High Ground

Best Supporting Actress in Film

Essie Davis – Nitram

Claudia Karvan – June Again

Esmerelda Marimowa – High Ground

Miranda Tapsell – The Dry

Jacki Weaver – Penguin Bloom


Best Short Form Comedy Presented by Facebook

A Life in Questions: Wisdom School with Aaron Chen

All My Friends Are Racist

Celebration Nation

Hug the Sun

Jimmy Rees

Samantha Andrew

Best Short Form Drama

Beautiful They

The Bends

Dwarf Planet


The Tailings

You and Me, Before and After

Best Short Form Entertainment

Chopsticks or Fork?

Gourmet Lazy

Nat’s What I Reckon

Ozzy Man Reviews

Strong Women

Woven Threads – Stories from Within

Originally published as AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack

Source link

Similar Posts